

Country Views on Killer Robots

9 November 2017

The Campaign to Stop Killer Robots monitors developments with respect to national policy to address concerns over fully autonomous weapons, including positions on the call to ban these weapons.

Who has called for a ban on killer robots?

Nineteen countries are calling for a ban on lethal autonomous weapons systems

In alphabetical order:

- 1. Algeria
- 2. Argentina
- 3. Bolivia
- 4. Chile
- 5. Costa Rica
- 6. Cuba
- 7. Ecuador
- 8. Egypt
- 9. Ghana
- 10. Guatemala
- 11. Holy See
- 12. Mexico
- 13. Nicaragua
- 14. Pakistan
- 15. Panama
- 16. Peru
- 17. State of Palestine
- 18. Venezuela
- 19. Zimbabwe

In chronological order:

- Pakistan on <u>30 May 2013</u>
- Ecuador on <u>13 May 2014</u>
- Egypt on <u>13 May 2014</u>
- Holy See on <u>13 May 2014</u>
- Cuba on <u>16 May 2014</u>
- Ghana on <u>16 April 2015</u>

- Bolivia on 17 April 2015
- State of Palestine on 13 November 2015
- Zimbabwe on <u>12 November 2015</u>
- Algeria on <u>11 April 2016</u>
- Costa Rica on <u>11 April 2016</u>
- Mexico on <u>13 April 2016</u>
- Chile on <u>14 April 2016</u>
- Nicaragua on 14 April 2016
- Panama on 12 December 2016
- Peru on 12 December 2016
- Argentina on 12 December 2016
- Venezuela on 13 December 2016
- Guatemala on 13 December 2016

Who has spoken on the topic of killer robots?

A total of 83 countries have publicly elaborated their views on lethal autonomous weapons systems in a multilateral forum: 44 states in 2013, eight in 2014, fifteen in 2015, fourteen in 2016, and two in 2017.

Most states spoke at the Convention on Conventional Weapons as well as the United Nations General Assembly. Almost two-dozen states spoke during the first debate on the topic in May 2013 at the Human Rights Council.

- 1. Algeria on 30 May 2013
- 2. Argentina on 30 May 2013
- 3. Australia on 14 November 2013
- 4. Austria on 30 May 2013
- 5. Bangladesh on 21 October 2016
- 6. Belarus on 14 November 2013
- 7. Belgium on 11 November 2013
- 8. Bolivia on 17 April 2015
- 9. Botswana on 27 October 2015
- 10. Brazil on 30 May 2013
- 11. Bulgaria on 23 October 2014
- 12. Burkina Faso on 23 October 2017
- 13. Cameroon on 12 December 2016
- 14. Canada on 11 November 2013
- 15. Chile on 13 April 2015
- 16. China on 30 May 2013
- 17. Colombia on 17 April 2015
- 18. Costa Rica on 29 October 2013
- 19. Croatia on 15 November 2013
- 20. Cuba on 30 May 2013
- 21. Czech Republic on 13 May 2014
- 22. Denmark on 13 April 2015

23. Ecuador on 29 October 2013 24. Egypt on 30 May 2013 25. Estonia on 31 August 2016 26. Finland on 22 October 2014 27. France on 30 May 2013 28. Germany on 30 May 2013 29. Ghana on 14 November 2013 30. Greece on 29 October 2013 31. Guatemala on 16 May 2014 32. Holy See on 14 November 2013 33. Hungary on 7 October 2016 34. India on 30 October 2013 35. Indonesia on 30 May 2013 36. Iran on 30 May 2013 37. Iraq on 13 November 2015 38. Ireland on 29 October 2013 39. Israel on 15 November 2013 40. Italy on 14 November 2013 41. Japan on 29 October 2013 42. Jordan on 31 August 2016 43. Kazakhstan on 13 November 2015 44. Kuwait on 26 October 2015 45. Latvia on 21 October 2016 46. Lebanon on 26 October 2015 47. Lithuania on 14 November 2013 48. Madagascar on 14 November 2013 49. Mali on 13 May 2014 50. Mexico on 30 May 2013 51. Moldova, Rep. on 12 December 2016 52. Montenegro on 12 December 2016 53. Morocco on 30 May 2013 54. Myanmar on 10 October 2017 55. Netherlands on 29 October 2013 56. New Zealand on 30 October 2013 57. Nicaragua on 13 November 2015 58. Norway on 13 May 2014 59. Pakistan on 30 May 2013 60. Palestine on 13 November 2014 61. Panama on 12 December 2016 62. Peru on 12 December 2016 63. Philippines on 14 April 2016 64. Poland on 13 April 2015 65. Portugal on 14 October 2014 66. Romania on 26 October 2015 67. Russia on 30 May 2013 68. Sierra Leone on 30 May 2013

- 69. Slovakia on 12 December 2016
- 70. Slovenia on 12 December 2016
- 71. South Africa on 30 October 2013
- 72. South Korea on 14 November 2013
- 73. Spain on 11 November 2013
- 74. Sri Lanka on 13 April 2015
- 75. Sweden on 30 May 2013
- 76. Switzerland on 30 May 2013
- 77. Turkey on 14 November 2013
- 78. Ukraine on 14 November 2013
- 79. United Kingdom on 30 May 2013
- 80. United States on 30 May 2013
- 81. Venezuela on 13 December 2016
- 82. Zambia on 17 April 2015
- 83. Zimbabwe on 12 November 2015