

Country Views on Killer Robots March 2016

The Campaign to Stop Killer Robots monitors developments with respect to national policy to address concerns over fully autonomous weapons, including statements made at multilateral meetings.

Who has called for a ban on killer robots?

Countries calling for a ban on lethal autonomous weapons systems in alphabetical order:

- 1. Cuba
- 2. Bolivia
- 3. Ecuador
- 4. Egypt
- 5. Ghana
- 6. Holy See
- 7. Pakistan
- 8. State of Palestine
- 9. Zimbabwe

Countries calling for a ban on lethal autonomous weapons systems in chronological order:

- 1. Pakistan on 30 May 2013
- 2. Ecuador on 13 May 2014
- 3. Egypt on <u>13 May 2014</u>
- 4. Holy See on 13 May 2014
- 5. Cuba on 16 May 2014
- 6. Ghana on 16 April 2015
- 7. Bolivia on 17 April 2015
- 8. State of Palestine on 13 November 2015
- 9. Zimbabwe on 12 November 2015

Who has spoken on the topic of killer robots?

A total of 66 countries have for the first time elaborated their views publicly on lethal autonomous weapons systems in a multilateral forum: 44 states in 2013, seven in 2014, and fifteen in 2015. Most states spoke at the Convention on Conventional Weapons as well as the United Nations General Assembly. Almost two-dozen spoke in the first debate on the matter in May 2013 at the Human Rights Council.

- 1. Algeria on 30 May 2013
- 2. Argentina on 30 May 2013
- 3. Australia on 14 November 2013
- 4. Austria on 30 May 2013
- 5. Belarus on 14 November 2013
- 6. Belgium on 11 November 2013
- 7. Bolivia on 17 April 2015
- 8. Botswana on 27 October 2015
- 9. Brazil on 30 May 2013
- 10. Bulgaria on 23 October 2014
- 11. Canada on 11 November 2013
- 12. Chile on 13 April 2015

- 13. China on 30 May 2013
- 14. Colombia on 17 Apr. 2015
- 15. Costa Rica on 29 October 2013
- 16. Croatia on 15 November 2013
- 17. Cuba on 30 May 2013
- 18. Czech Republic on 13 May 2014
- 19. Denmark on 13 April 2015
- 20. Ecuador on 29 October 2013
- 21. Egypt on 30 May 2013
- 22. Finland on 22 October 2014
- 23. France on 30 May 2013
- 24. Germany on 30 May 2013
- 25. Ghana on 14 November 2013
- 26. Greece on 29 October 2013
- 27. Guatemala on 16 May 2014
- 28. Holy See on on 14 November 2013
- 29. India on 30 October 2013
- 30. Indonesia on 30 May 2013
- 31. Iran on 30 May 2013
- 32. Iraq on 13 November 2015
- 33. Ireland on on 29 October 2013
- 34. Israel on 15 November 2013
- 35. Italy on 14 November 2013
- 36. Japan on 29 October 2013
- 37. Kazakhstan on 13 November 2015
- 38. Kuwait on 26 October 2015
- 39. Lebanon on 26 October 2015
- 40. Lithuania on 14 November 2013
- 41. Madagascar on 14 November 2013
- 42. Mali on 13 May 2014
- 43. Mexico on 30 May 2013
- 44. Morocco on 30 May 2013
- 45. Netherlands on 29 October 2013
- 46. New Zealand on 30 October 2013
- 47. Nicaragua on 13 November 2015
- 48. Norway on 13 May 2014
- 49. Pakistan on <u>30 May 2013</u>
- 50. Palestine on 13 November 2014
- 51. Poland on 13 April 2015
- 52. Romania on 26 October 2015
- 53. Russia on 30 May 2013
- 54. Sierra Leone on 30 May 2013
- 55. South Africa on 30 October 2013
- 56. South Korea on 14 November 2013
- 57. Spain on 11 November 2013
- 58. Sri Lanka on 13 April 2015
- 59. Sweden on 30 May 2013
- 60. Switzerland on 30 May 2013
- 61. Turkey on 14 November 2013
- 62. UK on 30 May 2013
- 63. Ukraine on 14 November 2013
- 64. US on 30 May 2013
- 65. Zambia on 17 April 2015
- 66. Zimbabwe on 12 November 2015